About Us

Our Focus

Harmonisation of the Postal and Information Communications and Technologies (ICT) regulatory environment in the SADC region in order to improve the Postal and ICT business frameworks and investment climate in SADC.

Our Vision

To be a world class ICT and Postal regulatory association.

Our Mission

Position ICT and Postal Sectors as catalysts for socio economic development, through developing and implementing harmonised regulations that make the SADC region the preferred choice for investment

CRASA Structure

CRASA comprises of four institutions, namely; the Annual General Meeting (AGM), the Executive Committee (EC), the Specialized Committees and the Secretariat.


The AGM is the supreme decision-making body and meets once a year to receive and approve reports of the Specialized Committees, annual action plans, the annual report and audited accounts as well as the annual budget for the Association. The meeting also offers a platform where members share their experiences through presentations and reports.


The Executive Committee exercises the supervisory functions over the implementation of the decisions of the Association in between the Annual General Meetings. The Executive Committee comprises of four members; Chairperson, First Vice Chairperson, Second Vice Chairperson and Treasurer.


The Annual General Meeting and Executive Committee are supported by the Specialized Committees, Task Teams and the Secretariat. The Specialized Committees have the responsibility to produce model policies and guidelines on various regulatory functions to be applied by communications regulators in the SADC region. The Model Policies and regulatory guidelines, as approved by CRASA AGM, are submitted to the meeting of Ministers responsible for Telecommunications, Postal and ICT for endorsement.


The Task Teams are established when need arises in order to undertake special assignments as authorized by the AGM.
“It's our shared vision that drives us forward.”


The CRASA Secretariat implements the decisions of the AGM under guidance of the Executive Committee. The Secretariat manages operational, administrative and financial aspects of CRASA activities. The Secretariat plans and organizes CRASA meetings, workshops and conferences.
Mrs. Bridget Mphatso Linzie
Executive Secretary
Mr. Brian Mwansa
Head Postal Services
Mrs. Benedictor Gabadirwe Mothibi
Human Resources & AdministrationOfficer
Mrs. Lebogang Ode Kabomo
Administrative Assistant

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee oversees the operations of the Association in between the Annual General Meetings. The Executive Committee is responsible for implementing and monitoring the execution of the decisions of the Annual General Meetings. It also has the authority to make decisions and give policy direction when executing the decisions of the Annual General Meeting. The Executive Committee delegates responsibility for day to day activities of CRASA to the Executive Secretary.

The Executive Committee has the authority to oversee the internal control of the operations of CRASA. CRASA internal control system provides reasonable assurance that assets are safeguarded and transactions are authorised. It is known that even an effective internal control system can only provide reasonable assurance in terms of financial statement preparation and safety of assets. In this regard, CRASA has placed a system that can either prevent or detect material errors and irregularities timely and assurance that they will be dealt with appropriately.

The composition and appointment of CRASA Executive Committee is governed by the CRASA Constitution. The Executive Committee is elected annually by the AGM and consists of four members. No Member serves the Committee for more than two conservative terms except the Treasurer, who is also the host of the CRASA Secretariat.
Dr. Gift Kallisto Machengete
Dr. Gift Kallisto Machengete
First Vice Chairperson
Mr. Pascoal Borges Alé Fernandes
Mr. Pascoal Borges Alé Fernandes
Second Vice Chairperson
Mr. Martin Mokgware
Mr. Martin Mokgware

ICT and Postal regulators from the SADC Region

Instituto Angolano das Communicações (INACOM)
Botswana Communications Regulatory Authority (BOCRA)
Autorite de Regulation de la Poste et des Telecommunications du Congo (ARPTC)
Democratic Republic of Congo
Lesotho Communications Authority (LCA)
Malawi Communications Regulatory Authority (MACRA)
Information and Communications Technologies Authority of Mauritius (ICTA)
Instituto Nacional das Comunicações de Moçambique (INCM)
Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (ICASA)
South Africa
Communications Regulatory Authority of Namibia (CRAN)
Interested in joining the team
Get in Touch